Printed on Mon Sep 26 2022 9:24:38 AM

9 prominent individuals and organization receive 'Independence Award'

Staff Correspondent
9 prominent individuals
In recognition of the glorious and meritorious contribution at the national level, the 'Independence Award 2021' is given to 9 eminent persons and an organization (Bangladesh Agricultural Research Council).

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina handed over the Independence Award to the dignitaries at Ganobhaban on Thursday, May 20. The Prime Minister handed over the award to the relatives of those who received the posthumous Independence Award.

The late Ahsanullah Master, the late Akhtaruzzaman Babu, the late Awami League leader AKM Bazlur Rahman, the late heroic freedom fighter Brigadier General Khurshid Uddin Ahmed, the poet Mahadev Saha in literature, the filmmaker-lyricist Gazi Mazharul Anwar and the playwright Ataur Rahman,  Mrinmoy Guha, Professor M Amjad Hossain of Social Work or Public Service received the Independence Award this year.

Besides, Bangladesh Agricultural Research Council got the Independence Award for research and training.

Since 1977, the government has given the Independence Award every year in recognition of glorious and meritorious contribution at the national level.

Voice TV/IA
Latest News