Printed on Thu Oct 06 2022 8:08:27 PM

Abahani Limited retained the DPL title

Sports desk
Abahani Limited
Abahani Limited retained the title by defeating Prime Bank Cricket Club by 8 runs in the final match of Dhaka Premier League (DPL) Super League. Abahani completed this year's event by securing the top spot with 24 points in this victory. Prime Bank has become the runner-up with 22 points. Abahani maintained the superiority of DPL with a huge victory.

Abahani captain Mosaddek Hossain Saikat decided to bat first after winning the toss at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur, known as the 'home of cricket'. Nazmul Hossain Shanto and Mosaddek Hossain Saikat showed the way to Abahani despite losing 3 wickets in 31 runs.

They averaged a 70-run partnership for the fourth wicket. Despite good batting, however, no one saw a half-century. Shanto scored 45 off 40 balls and Mosaddeq returned with 40 off 39 balls.

Among others, Liton Das scored 19 off 13 balls, Afif Hossain Dhrobo scored 12 off 7 balls and Mohammad Saifuddin scored an unbeaten 21 off 13 balls. At the end of the allotted 20 overs, Abahani lost 7 wickets and scored 150 runs. Rubel Hossain took 2 wickets for 22 runs for Prime Bank.

Prime Bank lost the wicket of opener Ronnie Talukder by 12 runs. After that, the team loses wickets at regular intervals. Another opener, Rubel Mia, kept trying to keep one side at bay, but he was dismissed for 41 off 43 balls, leaving Prime Bank out of the match.

In the 19th over, Mohammad Saifuddin was bowled by Alok Kapali. Despite spending 36 runs, he single-handedly took four wickets for Prime Bank. Mehedi Hasan Rana also took two wickets. Prime Bank needed 16 runs in the last over. Shahidul Islam made 7 runs in that over. Alok's 34 off 17 balls with 2 fours and 3 sixes was in vain.

In the end, after losing 9 wickets in 20 overs, Prime Bank collected 142 runs. Abahani won the title by 8 runs. This is Abahani's third consecutive title in the DPL.

Voice TV/IA
Latest News