Printed on Mon May 16 2022 7:58:21 AM

Imran Khan Loses 'PM' Post

International desk
Imran Khan
Imran Khan lost the post of PM of Pakistan in a no-confidence vote after the resignation of the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Parliament at midnight.

At midnight on Saturday, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) senior MP and panel speaker Ayaz Saeed presided over a no-confidence vote that would mark part of Pakistan's seven-decade history of failing to complete a prime minister's term.

According to Geo News, 174 members of the National Assembly voted against him. Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, who took over as the new speaker, announced the results after the vote.

After announcing the results, the speaker invited Shahbaz Sharif to deliver a speech. Shahbaz said, "Thanks to the Almighty for showing me this day."

Appreciating the patience of the opposition members, former president Asif Ali Zardari thanked the leaders of other parties, including JUI-F chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman, for their support.

Opposition groups called for the beleaguered PM to resign. Meanwhile, PM Imran Khan left Islamabad by helicopter.

Opposition parties have stated they will not run in the by-elections. However, on April 3, Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly Qasim Khan Suri dismissed the proposal as "unconstitutional".

On the same day, President Arif Alvi dissolved the National Assembly on the advice of the PM. In this situation, the Supreme Court gave notice on its own initiative. Opponents also approached the court. After five consecutive days of hearings, the Supreme Court on April 7 dismissed the no-confidence motion and declared the decision to dissolve the National Assembly unconstitutional, and ordered a vote on the no-confidence motion.

The session began at 10:30 am on Saturday under the chairmanship of Asad Kaiser, speaker of the lower house of parliament. The session was adjourned on several occasions.

Asad Qaiser, the speaker of the lower house of Pakistan's lower house of parliament, resigned last night, saying he could not be part of a foreign conspiracy to oust Prime Minister Imran Khan. Later Ayaz Sadiq took charge. Then the voting started.

Voice TV 80/3, VIP Road, Khan Tower, Kakrail
Dhaka-1000, Bangladesh
Phone: +88 02 9338530
© Copyright Voice TV 2022 — Voice TV
A concern of Shapla Media
Latest News