Printed on Wed Aug 10 2022 6:13:57 PM

11 personalities, institution to get Independence Award 2022

Staff Correspondent
Independence Award 2022
In recognition of 'glorious and meritorious' contribution at the national level, the government has finally nominated 10 eminent individuals and organizations for the Independence Award-2022.

The list of nominees for the Independence Award was published in a press release issued by the Cabinet on Tuesday, March 15.

Freedom fighter Ilias Ahmed Chowdhury, martyr Colonel Khandaker Nazmul Huda (Bir Bikram), Abdul Jalil, Siraj Uddin Ahmed, and the late Sirajul Haque.

Two are receiving awards in the "Medical" category. They are- Professor Kanak Kanti Barua and Professor Md Kamrul Islam.

In the "Literature" category the award was given to late Md Amir Hamza and late architect Syed Moinul Islam in getting the award in the "Architecture" category.

The Bangladesh Wheat and Maize Research Institute is receiving the award for "Research and Training."

It is the highest state civilian award in the country. The government has been giving this award every year since 1986 on the occasion of Independence Day on March 26.
Latest News