Printed on Thu Oct 06 2022 1:30:32 AM

Nadal got Laureus Awards for the second time

Staff Correspondent
Laureus World Sports Award
Spanish Tennis superstar Rafael Nadal has won the Laureus World Sports Award for the second time in his career.

Tennis star, Naomi Osaka of Japan has also been named the best player of the year in this prestigious award.

The winners were announced at a digital awards ceremony on Thursday, May 06 in Seville, Spain.

Nadal broke Roger Federer's record for most Grand Slams in a single tennis event by winning last year's French Open. At the same time, the king of clay courts took the record of winning the title at the French Open.

Nadal first won the award in 2011.

Naomi Osaka won the award for the first time, won the US Open last year. It was the fourth Grand Slam of her career.

Last year's Champions League winners Bayern Munich have been named the team of the year.

Legendary tennis player Billie Jean King has received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The award has been given since 2000. In the men's division, Federer has been the best four times so far, four times in a row. Serena Williams has won the women's category four times.

Lionel Messi and Lewis Hamilton were joint best in the men's division last year. Barcelona star Messi became the first footballer to win the award.

Voice TV/IA
Latest News