Printed on Fri Aug 12 2022 6:34:35 AM

PM inaugurated the Payra Power Plant

Staff Correspondent
Payra Power Plant
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina inaugurated the Payra Thermal Power plant Station on Monday, March 21 at 11:48 am. At that time she announced 100% electrification in the country.

She attended the inauguration ceremony of the power plant at 11:46 am. Then she inaugurated it.

Meanwhile, on the occasion of the arrival of the Prime Minister, a wave of happiness is flowing among the people in Patuakhali.

According to the Power Plant Project project, an agreement was signed in 2014 between the Bangladesh Northwest Power Company (NWPGCL) and China National Machinery Export and Import Corporation (CMC) for the construction of the power plant.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina laid the foundation stone of the power plant on October 14, 2016. It is the largest power plant in the country and the third-largest ultra-supercritical technology power plant in South Asia.

Bangladesh is the 11th country in the world to have built such a power plant.

The 1,320-megawatt power plant is half-owned by Bangladesh and the other half by China Power Company (BCPCL).

On May 15, 2020, the first 660 MW of electricity was commercially generated from this plant and supplied to the national grid. Later on December 6 of the same year, the power plant of the second unit generated 660 MW of electricity using Ultra Super technology.

The latest technology has been used in the construction of the Payra Thermal Power Station to ensure environmental protection. For this, 5 to 7 percent extra has been spent.

Construction of another 1,320 MW power plant is underway in the second phase of the project. It could be launched in the middle of 2024.
Latest News